Job For A Cowboy Kondigt Nieuw Album “Moon Healer” Aan, Brengt “The Forever Rot” Uit

Geschreven door Stefan
Job For A Cowboy

De recent teruggekeerde technische death metal band Job For A Cowboy heeft met “The Forever Rot” hun tweede nieuwe single sinds 2014 uitgebracht en de details van hun langverwachte vijfde studioalbum bekendgemaakt.

Dit nieuwe album krijgt de titel “Moon Healer” en heeft als releasedatum 23 februari meegekregen. De opnamesessies voor het album vonden plaats met producer Jason Suecof (The Black Dahlia Murder, Deicide).

Zanger Jonny Davy zegt het volgende over de nieuwe release:

The evolution of our sound has become a big part of the band. As we mature as musicians, our tastes and interests naturally expand. With age comes more experience and ideas that we wouldn’t have considered in our earlier years.
As most bands have at one point or another found themselves in the situation of having to meet strict deadlines, this was not the case for ‘Moon Healer‘. We started laying the groundwork for this album in 2018. Being as busy as we were in life, we managed to slowly chip away. This slow pace gave us significantly more time to analyze and dissect what we were doing, which in turn helped make a better album.

Zoals de titel al doet vermoeden heeft dit nieuwe album connecties met het in 2014 uitgekomen album “Sun Eater”:

Sun Eater‘ was an arrangement of melodies inspired by a close friend of the band who lost touch with reality due to excessive hard drug use. This person was predisposed or was already experiencing symptoms of bipolar disorder and/or schizophrenia. They believed the drugs were providing them with eye-opening epiphanies. They believed that the drugs allowed them to cross into a reality closer to God. Likewise, they didn’t have the self-awareness that they were falling further down the depths of their own mental illness. The songs reflected the thoughts, ideas, and situations this person encountered.”

“The concepts in ‘Moon Healer‘ follow someone attempting to explore a different human existence. They considered themselves a pseudo-alchemist. They obsessed over esoteric methods to access altered states of consciousness through various pathways, including a focus on the pineal gland, a small endocrine gland within the center of the brain is believed to potentially play a role in entheogenic experiences. They cooked mind-altering consumables. But contrary to what others viewed as their descent into delusion, they were under the belief that they were unlocking the gateway to some form of profound enlightenment.

De coverart en tracklist zien er als volgt uit:

  1. Beyond The Chemical Doorway
  2. Etched In Oblivion
  3. Grinding Wheels Of Ophanim
  4. The Sun Gave Me Ashes So I Sought Out The Moon
  5. Into The Crystalline Crypts
  6. A Sorrow-Filled Moon
  7. The Agony Seeping Storm
  8. The Forever Rot

Pre-Orders voor het album zijn hier verkrijgbaar.

Deel dit artikel
Laat een reactie achter